Toronto Branch Dinner celebrates outstanding service

In front of more than 150 attendees, several members of our TCS community were recognized for outstanding service to the School at the 66th annual Toronto Branch Dinner, held at the Badminton and Racquet Club on Wednesday, October 25th.

Among the honourees was this year's Toronto Branch Medal recipient, David McCart '67. In addition to serving as a year chair for at least two decades, David also led the School's development office for 15 years. Old Boy Pat Little '67 shared the many adventures he and Mr. McCart have had since they entered "Charlie's Castle," the TCS Junior School under Principal Charles Tottenham, in 1962. He also acknowledged many of Mr. McCart's accomplishments as a staff member at TCS, specifically the work he put into increasing the School's endowment from $6 million to $24 million. In accepting the award, Mr. McCart thanked his friends, as well as his wife, Cathy, familiar to many for her years of service as the School's archivist, and his daughter Kingsley, a graduate from the class of 1997. Branch President Arundel Gibson '93 noted that the Toronto Branch Medal is a special honour in that it is not given out every year, but only in cases of true merit.

Also recognized during the evening were faculty and staff who have served the School for 20 years, a milestone which brings with it the status of "Honorary Old Boy." Peter Kedwell, a member of the TCS faculty for over 30 years, presented ties to the following: Larry Thornton, teacher in the Languages & Culture Department and pioneer of the School's Spanish programme; School nurse Linda Spiewak, who was supported by the presence of the School's entire nursing staff at the dinner; and the Maintenance Department's Leonard Jacob, who was joined by his wife June and was acknowledged for making the TCS cross country running course the envy of independent schools. Mr. Kedwell also spoke of the work done by Gena Carr and Shirley Markovski from the Housekeeping Department, who will be honoured for their commitment to the TCS family for the past two decades at a separate ceremony.

Special thanks to the Toronto Branch executive members for their hard work in making the annual dinner such a success: Arundel Gibson '93, Mike Bellamy '93, Chris Byers '86, Ken Clarke '66, Aynsley Deluce '94, William Molson '70 and Will L'Heureux '98.