Bigside girls win 4th Annual Brian Proctor Invitational Hockey Tournament

The host Bigside girls hockey team defeated the Syracuse Stars to win the 4th Annual Brian Proctor International Invitational Hockey Tournament this past weekend, marking the first time the championship has been won by TCS.

Mr. Proctor, the School's former admissions director, continues to be a tremendous supporter of the TCS hockey programme and was on hand for the tournament named in his honour. The competition welcomes teams from as far away as Syracuse, Winnipeg and Halifax.

The TCS squad finished with a 5-0 record, including wins over Belleville (4-1), Lakefield College School (8-0), the Toronto Rattlers (2-1), Ridley College (9-1) in the semi-final, and a 3-1 victory over the Syracuse Stars in the final. Contributing to the team's success were coaches Rick Traugott, Dave Ingram and Angela Mallory.

As per tradition, the divisions were named after last year's Bigside girls hockey captains: Jacqueline Boss, Jenna Briggs, Jocelyn Murphy and Lindsey Pollard. TCS finished first in the Boss-Murphy Division with Syracuse atop the Briggs-Pollard Division.

Goalie Jess Enman, Olwyn Foley on defence, and forwards Kyrsten Venasse and Kristen Pallen were named to the all-tournament team.

The team will compete in two tournaments in February: the North American Prep Hockey Association (NAPHA) tournament, February 17th-19th; and CISAA on February 28th. The OFSAA championships will be held in Trenton, Ontario, March 20th-22nd.