House Debates finalists announced

The finalists are now set for Trinity College School’s 2018-2019 House Debates program, following the semi-final round on Monday, March 4th. In the Junior final, Rigby House will face Orchard, and in the Senior championships, Ketchum and Rigby will square off.

The “final four” came down to Rigby, Orchard, Ketchum and Scott House in both the Junior and Senior semi-finals, with students debating resolutions on the relative importance of environmental protection versus economic growth.

In the Junior ranks, the top individual debater was Riley Christensen of Orchard House, followed in order by Rigby’s Neyha Billing and Orchard’s Devon Moran. Top team honours went to Neyha and her Rigby House partner (and sister!), Jasleen Billing. The Orchard House pairing of Kai Blackstock and Brennon O’Grady stood in second place, while the Ketchum duo of Ashley Hayley and Clare Schofield rounded out the leaderboard.

Rigby and Orchard House will vie for the Dr. Michael T. DuBroy Junior House Debate Trophy during afternoon flex block on Tuesday, April 2nd in the Dick and Jane LeVan Theatre.

In the Senior ranks, the top individual was Orchard’s Andrew Youssef, followed by Lauren Miller of Ketchum House. Third place was a tie between Ketchum’s Hope Tidman and Julia Jenkins of Scott House. Andrew and his Orchard House partner, Ben Traugott, were the top Senior team, followed by Julia and her Scott House teammate, Kenny Onyeka. Finishing in third place were Hope and her Ketchum House partner, Nicky Golding.

Ketchum and Rigby House will compete for the Tom Lawson Senior House Debate Trophy the evening of Monday, April 1st in Osler Hall.