Nine students earn Distinction in the arts

The mission of the co-curricular arts program at Trinity College School is to provide students with “a creative, challenging and innovative exploration of the arts where talented and aspiring young artists can develop and enhance their artistic skills in preparation for a richly rewarding lifelong relationship with the arts.” Achievement and commitment to the arts were celebrated at the annual Arts Awards held in the Dick and Jane LeVan Theatre the evening of Wednesday, May 29th.

Several major awards were presented during the ceremony, including the VOS Scholarship, sponsored by our community partners at the VOS Theatre. Grade 12 student Gemma Varty was the deserving recipient of this award. The John H. Bassett Music Award went to Grade 12 student Ben Traugott, while Grade 11 student Jayden Lefebvre received the Cosmo Music Award. The Warner Dance Trophy was presented to Dance Troupe captain and Grade 12 student, Hallie Paddock. And the Stevenson Award for Acting went to Grade 11 student Alastair Gray, star of this spring’s production of Death of a Salesman.

The evening featured the awarding of Distinction trophies to nine graduating students: Ethan Burnside, Cameryn Lang, Jeff McHarg, Colin Pecka, Ben Traugott, Gemma Varty, Harrison Wou, Mico Yao and Lidan Zheng. These students all displayed “superior contribution, elite skill and leadership” in the performing arts.

Awards of excellence, which recognize outstanding participation and performance in the arts, were presented to eight students, and 54 students were honoured with awards of Commendation based on their commitment to their arts involvement.

Congratulations to all of the award recipients (click here for the full list), as well as those students who will be recognized with awards for performing and fine arts achievements on Speech Day.