Advanced Placement Results

At Trinity College School, the Advanced Placement (AP) program offers an opportunity for enrichment, through a broad range of courses, to students who are motivated in a given subject area and who possess the learning skills to support advanced-level courses. In May 2019, 171 TCS Senior School students joined the millions of students worldwide to write the College Board AP examinations. The AP exams test students’ ability to perform in university level courses. They are scored on a scale from 1 to 5, with a grade of 3 indicating that the student is “qualified” and 5 indicating that the student is “extremely well qualified” at the university level in a given subject.

In 2019, TCS students wrote a total of 287 examinations, producing excellent results, with 17.4% of our students earning the top grade of 5 and 82% of our AP candidates earning a grade of 3 or better.

Of particular note this year, with the ICS2O course becoming mandatory for all Grade 9 students and the AP Computer Principles extension opportunity made available, we had a record high number of students writing the 2019 AP Computer Principles exam. Our group of 42 Grade 9 and 10 students performed exceptionally well with 90.5% of the students earning a score of 3 or higher.

AP Capstone Results
2019 also saw the fifth cohort of students complete the two-year AP Capstone Diploma program. This year, three students earned diplomas, having achieved a score of 3 or higher in AP Seminar, AP Research and four additional AP exams of their choosing. Congratulations to Emma Hak-Kovacs, Gemma Varty and Curtis Yau. The AP Seminar and Research Certificate was awarded to Ekene Onyeka, Danielle Thebeau and Harrison Wou, who each earned a score of 3 or higher in both the AP Seminar and AP Research courses.

AP Awards and Recognition
TCS is equally proud of the incredible efforts of our AP Scholar level award winners. This year, 12 students each earned a grade of at least a 3 on three different AP exams and were awarded the distinction of AP Scholar. Congratulations to Megan Bernier, Nathanael Chareunsouk, Yiran (Rita) Han, Tristin Jin, Noah Schofield, Ryan Urabe, Miguel Weerasinghe, Matthew Williams, Harrison Wou, Yaxin (Ashley) Xu, Nasser Yassein and Andrew Youssef.

Dong Hwan (Eric) Kim, Jayden Lefebvre, Edward Li, Tenzin Mahabir, Ekene Onyeka, Colin Pecka, Amelie Spoor, Danielle Thebeau, Gemma Varty and Zechen (James) Wang earned an average score of 3.25 on all AP exams taken, with scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams, achieving the status of AP Scholar with Honor.

Another seven students received an average score of 3.5 on all AP exams taken, with scores of 3 or higher in five or more of these exams, and were awarded AP Scholar with Distinction. Congratulations to Emma Hak-Kovacs, Magnus Jin, Muyao (Andy) Niu, Benjamin Traugott, Curtis Yau, Tianyi (Jack) Zhang and Lidan Zheng.

Three students – Muyao (Andy) Niu, Benjamin Traugott and Lidan Zheng – earned the honour of Canadian National Scholar. To achieve this level of recognition students must earn grades of 4 or better on all examinations taken, and scores of 4 or higher on five or more of these exams. Each year only about 100 students in Ontario accomplish this prestigious level of distinction; 48 students have now achieved this honour in TCS history.  

Our AP students and faculty are congratulated for their dedication and hard work towards the AP program, as the academic challenges of these examinations extend well beyond the requirements of the Ontario curriculum.

A complete list of our AP Scholars is shown below. As in the past, their names will appear on the AP recognition board in the main hallway on the ground floor of the Fessenden Wing.

  • Megan Bernier
  • Nathaneal Chareunsouk
  • Emma Hak-Kovacs ** CD
  • Yiran (Rita) Han
  • Magnus Jin **
  • Tristan Jin
  • Dong Hwan (Eric) Kim *
  • Jayden Lefebvre *
  • Edward Li *
  • Tenzin Mahabir *
  • Muyao (Andy) Niu ** CNS
  • Ekene Onyeka * SRC
  • Colin Pecka *
  • Noah Schofield
  • Amelie Spoor *
  • Danielle Thebeau * SRC
  • Benjamin Traugott ** CNS
  • Ryan Urabe
  • Gemma Varty * CD
  • Zechen (James) Wang *
  • Miguel Weerasinghe
  • Matthew Williams
  • Harrison Wou SRC
  • Yaxin (Ashley) Xu
  • Nasser Yassein
  • Curtis Yau ** CD
  • Andrew Youssef
  • Tianyi (Jack) Zhang **
  • Lidan Zheng ** CNS

* AP Scholar with Honour
** AP Scholar with Distinction
(CD) AP Capstone Diploma
(SRC) AP Seminar and Research Certificate
(CNS) AP Canadian National Scholar (at least a 4 on all exams taken, and scores of 4 or more on 5 or more exams