Skip to main content
The Clinton T. Sayers Award for Community Service at TCS
The Clinton T. Sayers Award for Community Service at TCS Fundraising Progress

Goal: $80,000 | Funds Raised: $72,691 | Updated: 05/29/2023

Dear TCS Friends of the Class of 1980,

We would like to share some important news regarding the Sayers fundraising campaign that we began in 2015.
Here are the key items that we have been able to negotiate with the School over the last 7 years, and which your past donations have made possible:

  1. We are thrilled to officially announce that the Service Learning Office of TCS will henceforth formally be known as the Clinton T. Sayers Centre for Service Learning ("Sayers Centre"). The TCS Service Learning office was previously located in a small office in the basement of the "Old Classroom Block" and has moved to larger space in what used to be the backstage area of the "New Gym." The Sayers Centre houses the Service Learning Director’s office, provides meeting facilities for students and staff, and offers other facilities and resources to students in support of their service activities.
  2. The Sayers Centre will complement the 25-year-old Sayers Award which was established in 1996 by the Class of 1980 and has become one of the school’s most prestigious awards on Speech Day.
  3. Just outside the Sayers Centre in the hallway connecting LeVan Hall and Cirne Commons, there will be a brand-new wall display which will include a photo and biography of Clinton, a statement from the Class of 1980, and the names of all past award winners with a beautiful brick wall as the backdrop. The wall will also include a display case for the new Sayers Trophy as designed by 1980 class member Dr. David Fisher. Construction and installation of the wall display will take place in the coming months. A comfortable seating/waiting area for students will also be positioned in front of the display.
  4. David’s new trophy is a true masterpiece which can be seen at the bottom of this webpage.
  5. TCS has also kindly given us a prime piece of wall real estate for the gold leaf listing of all Sayers Award winners in Osler Hall, alongside the names of those who have won the School's other most prestigious awards.
  6. The Sayers Centre itself will have proper signage outside the entrance door officially naming it.
  7. We will also have the new centre added to the navigation/directional signage that is posted throughout the campus.
  8. And finally, it is envisioned that our (current) fund of $66,248 will generate approximately $2,200 to be awarded each year. It has been agreed between the School and the Sayers Committee that starting in 2022, the Sayers Award winner will receive a cash prize of $500 which will then be onward transmitted by him/her to a charity or community cause of his/her choice. In this way, the Sayers Fund will continue to have positive ripple effects in the community outside TCS on a yearly basis. The remainder of the award will go directly to the Director of Service Learning who will use it at his/her discretion to support worthy student service projects throughout the year.

A Special Request:

The overall costs for the above-noted work have come to approximately $28,500, half of which has already been paid. The Sayers Committee is hoping that we can raise the shortfall of approximately $14,000 - and then raise additional funds to end up with a final total amount of $80,000- $100,000 after all expenses.

Given that the new Sayers Centre and its work are so central to the core mission of the School- “developing habits of the heart and mind for a life of purpose and service”- we are hopeful that you will consider a further donation in the next 8 months leading up to Bear Fair Weekend in late September 2022 when we plan to officially open the new Sayers Centre.

Thank you so much for considering this request. To donate, please visit and tick the box for the Sayers Fund or call the philanthropy & alumni office at 905-885-1295. The School will issue a tax receipt for any donations made towards the Sayers Fund.

Yours faithfully,

The Sayers Committee: John Belyea, Zack Chauvin, George Davie, Greg Davies, Fraser W. Gamble, David Fisher, Steven Frank, Taylor F. Hollander, Peter Kedwell, Marc Lafontaine, Doug Macfarlane, Tony Roberts, Neil D. Stephenson, and Ian H. Warren

Donors to date

Anonymous (2)
Anonymous, in memory of Douglas McGregor '80
Randall Bain '80
Paul Baker '80
Brent Barootes '80
Charles Barrett '67
Chris Beardall '80
Adam Belyea '80
John Belyea '80
Bryan Benitz '80
Reshma Bhargava '01
Andrew Boughner '16
Bill Boughner '56, in memory of Peter Boughner '58
Gordon Boughner '83
Edward Boyd '82
Ian Brogden '80
Colin Brown '75
Mary Lou Brownlee
Tamara Bryant '07
Michael Bryson '81
Rick Byers '78
Zack Chauvin '13
Holly Chen '14
Douglas Church '81
John Church '80
Class of 1981
Class of 1982
Chris Cowan '80
Sam Cureatz
James Daignault '80
Geoffrey M.C. Dale
George Davie '80
Andrew Davies '84
Eric Davies '82
Greg Davies '80
Thomas Delaney '80
Pin Duangdee '03
Yujia Duanmu
Michael Ebsary '80
David Ferrie '80
David Fisher '80
Steven Frank '80
Daniela Gagnon '08
Fraser Gamble '80
Ian Gamble '81
John & Dorothy Geale
Roderick Gladwish '80
Roger Glassco '65
Peter Goering '77, in memory of Jack Goering '43
Sheila Goering, in memory of Jack Goering '43
Richard Havlicek '80
Taylor Hollander '80
Christopher Honey '80
Adam Howard '76
Michael Hubicki '80
Gareth & Gillian Jones
Peter Kedwell
Jon Kennedy '82
Tim Kennish '58
Charlie Ker '80
Donna Kim '10
Kathy & Ted LaBranche, in honour of Joffre LaBranche '18
Anthony Lafleur '53
Marc Lafontaine '80
Brian Lawson '78
Tom Lawson '47
Janice Lindsay
Tom Little '79

Patricia Lorriman '00
Jeffrey Lowe '79
W. David Lynn '81
David Macfarlane '71
Doug Macfarlane '80
Spencer Main '14
Philip & Tricia Mandryk
Doug & Jacqueline Mann
Chris Matthews '77
David McCart '67
Brayden McCarthy '03
Don & Joan McCord
D. Walter McCormick '77
Alastair & Gina McDonald
Win McKay '79
Richard McLaren '64
Michael Meighen '56
William Meyer
William Morton '81
Fred Muldowney-Brooks '80
Peter Mulholland '81
Terry Needham '79, in memory of Ben Needham '80
Allison Noseworthy '99
Andrew Ochalski '80
Alexis Payn-Connolly
Christopher Payne '80
Christopher Phillips '79, in memory of Charles Phillips '80
Leslie Pindling '80
Tony Prower '46
Robert Renaud '80
Tony Roberts '81
Ryan Rodrigues '94
Debbie Sayers
Peter Sayers '75
Roger & Barbara Sayers
Doug Scott '81
John Scrivener '79
Madeleine Shaw-Rimmington '11
Stephen Sills '80
David Smith '81
Brian Snowdon '80
Michael Solway '80
Ted Southey '80
David Spaidal '80 & The Silvia Spaidal Fund
Ted Staunton
Marie Stephenson
Mark Stephenson
Neil Stephenson '80
Paul Stephenson
Hugh Stevenson
Michael Stevenson '81
Mark Stewart '80
Stewart Stockdale '80
Philip Stratford '80
Koidu Suleva-Vasila, in memory of Andrus Vasila '80
Harry Taylor '79
David Thomas '82
Nathan Titterton '17
Sarah Titterton '98
Henrik Vasila '87, in memory of Andrus Vasila '80
Ian Warren '80
Evan White '80
Stefan Witt '79
Jeff Wood '79
Rodger & Louise Wright
Neil Yip-Choy '80


Make your gift today

Gifts can be made at, or by calling the philanthropy & alumni office at 905-885-1295. If you have any questions regarding this project or how to make your gift, please reach out to us at

The Clinton T. Sayers Award for Community Service at TCS