Record-breaking year for AP awards and recognition

The Advanced Placement (AP) program at Trinity College School continues to offer an opportunity for enrichment, through a broad range of courses, to students who are motivated in a given subject area and possess the learning skills to support advanced-level courses. As always, AP exams test students’ ability to perform in university-level courses. Scored on a scale from 1 to 5, exams earning a grade of 3 represent a pass, with a 5 indicating that the student is “extremely well qualified” at the university level in a given subject.

As the community re-emerged from the global pandemic and the examinations returned to a more traditional format, post online and hybrid offerings of the previous two years, an impressive 160 TCS Senior School students joined the millions of students worldwide to write the College Board AP examinations. In 2022, a total of 309 examinations were written resulting in 82.5 % of our students earning an examination score of 3 or higher and the largest number of scholar designations in our history with the AP College Board. There were 61 AP Scholar designations this year, averaging 3.69.

AP Capstone results

2022 also saw the eighth cohort of students complete the two-year AP Capstone Diploma™ program. This year, nine students earned diplomas, having achieved a score of 3 or higher in AP Seminar, AP Research and four additional AP exams of their choosing. Congratulations to Emma Aitchison-Madill, Isolde Ardes, Morad Aref, Riley Christensen, Jan Heckel, Aiya Hyslop-Healy, Kristie Lam, Claire Marcotte and Madison Narciso. The AP Seminar and Research Certificate™ was awarded to Motiboluwaduro (Bolu) Abiola, Liliacees (Lily) Beaumont-Boulanger, Benjamin Boon, Valentina Conrad, Taige Emtage, Ellice Huhe, Megan Johnston, Stephanie Lane, Aneesa Momodu, Ebubechukwu (Ebube) Onyeka, Frédérique (Fred) Savard, Julia Steele and Jamil Velji, who each earned a score of 3 or higher in both the AP Seminar and AP Research courses.

AP awards and recognition

TCS is proud of the incredible efforts of our AP Scholar level award winners. This year, 32 students each earned a grade of at least a 3 on three different AP exams and were awarded the distinction of AP Scholar. Congratulations to Asseel Abdalla, Motiboluwaduro (Bolu) Abiola, Oluwatobi (Tobi) Adeusi, Ava Becker, Latajha Beneby, Neyha Billing, Alexa Braganza, Valentina Conrad, Taige Emtage, Kyra Fingas, Olivia Girimonte, Haena (Hannah) Hwang, Dagna Jezioro, Megan Johnston, Tae-Kyeong Kim, Stephanie Lane, Tanay Langhe, Amelia Maggi, Aneesa Momodu, Sydney Mueller, Frédérique (Fred) Savard, Matthew Ullmann, Marie-Anne Urrutia, Jamil Velji, Olivia Webb, Phillip Whan Tong, Xinrun (Robin) Xu, Eason Yang, Yi (Sara) Yang, Zihan (Anna) Yang, Carmella Ylagan and Jingshuang (Jennifer) Zhang.

Twelve students earned an average score of 3.25 on all AP exams taken, with scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams, achieving the status of AP Scholar with Honor. Congratulations to Emma Aitchison-Madill, Gordon Bennett, Benjamin Boon, Zhe (TianTian) Dong, Edward Feng, Ellice Huhe, Danny Liu, Oliver Lynn, Marius Shepherd, Jack Sprayson, Uday Talasila and Yibai (Isabella) Wu.

Fifteen students received an average score of 3.5 on all AP exams taken, with scores of 3 or higher in five or more of these exams, and were awarded AP Scholar with Distinction. Congratulations to Isolde Ardies, Morad Aref, Jia Yi (Jasmine) Chen, Antoine Chevalier, Riley Christensen, Valeria Fonseca Ortega, Jan Heckel, Silas Hodges, Aiya Hyslop-Healy, Kristie Lam, Claire Marcotte, Madison Narciso, Oluwaloseyi (Seyi) Ogundipe, Ebubechukwu (Ebube) Onyeka and Rizwan Tahir.

Our AP students and faculty are congratulated for their dedication and hard work towards the AP program, as the academic challenges of these examinations extend well beyond the requirements of the Ontario curriculum.

A complete list of our AP award and recognition recipients is shown below. As in the past, their names will appear on the AP recognition board in the main hallway on the ground floor of the Fessenden Wing.

- By Suzy Hall, director of academic administration

2022 AP Awards and Recognition

  • Abdalla, Asseel *
  • Abiola, Motiboluwaduro * (SRC)
  • Adeusi, Oluwatobi *
  • Aitchison-Madill, Emma ** (CD)
  • Ardies, Isolde *** (CD)
  • Aref, Morad *** (CD)
  • Beaumont-Belanger, Liliacees (SRC)
  • Becker, Ava *
  • Beneby, Latajha *
  • Bennett, Gordon **
  • Billing, Neyha *
  • Boon, Benjamin ** (SRC)
  • Braganza, Alexa *
  • Chen, Jia Yi *** ID
  • Chevalier, Antoine ***
  • Christensen, Riley *** (CD)
  • Conrad, Valentina * (SRC)
  • Dong, Zhe **
  • Emtage, Taige * (SRC)
  • Feng, Edward **
  • Fingas, Kyra *
  • Fonseca Ortega, Valeria *** (ID)
  • Girimonte, Olivia *
  • Heckel, Jan *** (CD)
  • Hodges, Silas ***
  • Huhe, Ellice ** (SRC)
  • Hwang, Haena *
  • Hyslop-Healy, Aiya *** (CD)
  • Jezioro, Dagna *
  • Johnston, Megan* (SRC)
  • Kim, Tae-Kyeong *
  • Lam, Kristie *** (CD)
  • Lane, Stephanie * (SRC)
  • Langhe, Tanay *
  • Liu, Danny **
  • Lynn, Oliver **
  • Maggi, Amelia *
  • Marcotte, Claire *** (CD)
  • Momodu, Aneesa * (SRC)
  • Mueller, Sydney *
  • Narciso, Madison *** (CD)
  • Ogundipe, Oluwaloseyi ***
  • Onyeka, Ebubechukwu *** (SRC)
  • Savard, Frédérique * (SRC)
  • Shepherd, Marius **
  • Sprayson, Jack **
  • Steele, Julia (SRC)
  • Tahir, Rizwan ***
  • Talasila, Uday **
  • Ullmann, Matthew *
  • Urrutia, Marie-Anne *
  • Velji, Jamil * (SRC)
  • Webb, Olivia *
  • Whan Tong, Phillip *
  • Wu, Yibai **
  • Xu, Xinrun *
  • Yang, Eason *
  • Yang, Yi *
  • Yang, Zihan *
  • Ylagan, Carmella *
  • Zhang, Jingshuang *

* AP Scholar
** AP Scholar with Honour
*** AP Scholar with Distinction
(ID) AP International Diploma
(CD) AP Capstone Diploma
(SRC) AP Seminar and Research Certificate